RSS Feed

Forever?

This week’s 100 Word Challenge is a photo prompt

Hey you,

I’m sorry for writing to you…but I need to share this photo, this pain, with you.
This morning I woke early, and slipped out of the house.

I intended never to go back to “our” cabin, but today, I needed to be there, to allow myself thoughts of you.

Remember…the heady excitement; the passion; the dreams we shared?

Remember how, within those walls…the world disappeared; nothing mattered; we could be forever?

Today every minute pierced my heart, ticking towards…your wedding.

Our cabin’s still standing.

I was there.

You have a new forever.

I ceased to exist.

Didn’t I?

Click the logo to go to Julia’s Place 100 Word Challenge for Grown-ups

About gillsrandomramblings

Working in education as a Child and Family Wellbeing Manager where I hope to make a small difference to the lives of vulnerable children and their families. Mum to 3 wonderful grown up children, provider of food and shelter to 2 ungrateful cats. New to blogging and not sure I'll write anything of interest, but here goes anyway....:o)

20 responses »

  1. Stunning passion here Gill! I’m sure there are lots of people who can empathise with these raw emotions. ‘New forever’ – fabulous!

    Reply
  2. Pingback: 100 Word Challenge for Grown Ups – WEEK #21 | Julia's Place

  3. Thank you Julia, it’s always such a compliment when you comment 🙂

    Reply
  4. Powerful stuff. I love how it develops and esp. the choice to phrases towards the end. Great post!

    Reply
  5. This is a really moving story Gill. “You have a new forever.” “I ceased to exist.” Such emotion in he contrast of their two situations.

    Reply
  6. Oh how sad. I understand so well. something in me wants to know she merely wrote this, didn’t send it out. You’ve evoked these emotions so well.

    Reply
  7. What a moving piece this is- no mean feat in so few words. Loved it. I hope that when she got through the pain, she got mad 😉 Great post.

    Reply
  8. Having been there myself, I couldn’t have described it better. Genius writing!

    Reply
  9. Thanks, glad you liked it 🙂

    Reply
  10. Love how the cabin continues to be “ours”, Robin

    Reply
  11. Simply wish to say your article is as surprising. The clarity in your post is just spectacular and i can assume you are an expert on this subject. Well with your permission allow me to grab your feed to keep updated with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please carry on the enjoyable work.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

