RSS Feed

In Winter We Shiver…

In response to this week’s 100 word challenge…which this week is shortened to 21 words, inspired by:

Remember remember the fifth of November
Gunpowder, treason and plot.
I see no reason why gunpowder, treason
Should ever be forgot…

….and has to include the phrase “in winter we shiver”

here is my humble offering

Afloat on the river, in winter we shiver
Occasionally becoming stuck
The swan population, avoiding migration
Unlike our neighbour the duck

Click here to visit Julia’s Place for the 100 word challenge

About gillsrandomramblings

Working in education as a Child and Family Wellbeing Manager where I hope to make a small difference to the lives of vulnerable children and their families. Mum to 3 wonderful grown up children, provider of food and shelter to 2 ungrateful cats. New to blogging and not sure I'll write anything of interest, but here goes anyway....:o)

22 responses »

  1. Nice one! I love the rhythm and the rhyming is inspired. Population with migration – love it. And the last line really made me laugh.

    Reply
  2. This is superb. Agree with Sally- Jayne; I chuckled at the last line. Well done you.:)

    Reply
  3. Hehe, I love it! 🙂 Well done!

    Reply
  4. Oh yes! I like it very much! Great to have the birds in it. I’m so glad you persevered with it. It was certainly worth it! Thank you so much for your support with this silliness Gill. I really do appreciate it!

    Reply
  5. Does have a nice rhythm, and I love the tale of the birds, too!

    Reply
  6. Love it. Especially liked the swan and duck. This piece scans beautifully.

    Reply
  7. Dry, wry and comical! Good one.

    Reply
  8. You did sneak in late didn’t you? However, you are forgiven because I love your poem. And I’m enchanted by the photo – did you take it yourself?

    Reply
  9. I love it! This one made me giggle!

    Reply
  10. Lisa Wields Words

    Makes me think swans might be stupid. I love it. Thanks for the giggle.

    Lisa

    Reply

Leave a Reply

